Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section

*Please see below the following:

- Structure of the Governors

- Areas of responsibility

- Register of Interests

- Letters

- Governor Monitoring

- Governor's Annual Statement

- Message from the Headteacher



Mrs Pauline MacMillan

Chair of Governors

Mr Deri Hollywell

Vice Chair

Mr Nigel Bear

Local Authority Representatives


Mrs Kathryn Stannard

Co-opted Governors

Mr Nigel Bear

Mr Eugene Niemand

Mrs Nicole Nazareth

Parent Governors

Mrs Elizabeth Gower

Mr Deri Hollywell

Mrs Chloe Jenkins

School Representatives

Mr John Pregnall



In loving memory of our Chair of Governors

– David Knight


David joined our Governing Body at Oakfield Primary School in 2008. At the time, we had lost several long-standing governors and he came along when we really needed governors with both experience and expertise. David brought both. He took on the roles of Vice-Chair and then Chair of Governors leading the Governing Body of which he was so proud to belong to. 


David was a strong leader – he led meetings and always ensured that we all kept to the agenda and time; oversaw the setting of the school budget and other financial requirements; was part of the performance management of the Headteacher; took a keen interest particularly in provision for pupils with special educational needs and early years. He could always be relied upon to read the numerous policies which every school publishes with an eye for detail. David led, what he described as, ‘the engine room’ of the school.


As one governor said, “When I joined as a new governor, David made me feel so welcome and at ease. It has been an absolute pleasure to join him on the board of governors at Oakfield and he was such a great chair. He loved the school so much and his passion towards ensuring that all of the children were given the best opportunities has been completely infectious and motivating.” 


David became an integral part of our school. He attended whole school conferences on non-pupil days when he joined school staff, most recently an art work shop when he explored painting in the style of other artists. This simply added to his portfolio of governor courses which he attended throughout the year. We know because we always smiled when governors reported their CPD at governing body meetings as David always had a long list!


David took his role seriously and could always be relied on to attend the Governor Open Days. These were introduced during David’s time as a governor but he added his own ideas as to how they would develop and grow. In fact this model has also been shared as an exemplar to other schools. They provide an opportunity for governors to come along and see the school in action. The focus changes depending on the areas for school improvement at the time.


David enjoyed chatting to teachers as part of his monitoring. Teachers said, “I had a lot of respect for David and it was clear how much he loved the school and the quality of education provided for the children. I always liked how he'd make time to have a chat with everyone whenever he was in. I had many interesting conversations with him about science and new technologies and just about anything!” Part of the day always included catch-up time over lunch but David always enjoyed a cup of tea and a chat whenever he visited the school.


Most of all, he loved being with the children and they loved talking to him. Whether it was joining in their learning in the classroom, sharing their books, talking about new strategies for teaching reading or mathematics, attending special assemblies, performances and events or presenting the trophies on Sports Day. Children are the heart of the school and David always valued opportunities to join them. A memorable moment for us all, including David, was seeing their faces light up when we took the whole school to the pantomime every Christmas. He also shared in the awe and wonder of a Lion King performance when the animals came through the auditorium and brushed past us to the delight of the children.


David believed that the school was at the centre of the community. He certainly played his role in this. Every year from when he first became a governor he volunteered to help at the school’s Summer Fete by running the coconut shy. He didn’t stop there because he became a valued member of the Friends of Oakfield committee and always looked forward to helping to organise events such as the Christmas Bazaar and the Wish Rooms when children pop in to buy a special gift for someone. David would always help out whenever he could and he took a keen interest in fund raising events at the school.


Members of the Friends of Oakfield expressed their thanks saying, "I was deeply saddened to hear that David had passed away and would like to pass on my deepest sympathies for your loss at this difficult time. I worked with David on both the Board of Governors and as a member of the Friends of Oakfield committee. I found David to be an inspiration to work with and deeply respected his opinions. He was a pleasure to work with and will be missed on many levels around the school. My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family at this difficult time." 


David supported the school 100% and wanted the very best for Oakfield children. He recognised all of our great achievements over the years and saw the school through highs and lows. He gave so freely of his time and always ensured that both staff and children received the recognition that they deserved. Although he was proud of the high achievers, he also remembered Oakfield’s vision as an inclusive school and made time to chat to our special needs pupils whenever he saw them. On Sports Day he introduced the ‘Spirit of Oakfield’ cup for the team leading the best chants and warrior dance of the day. David also instigated the Governor Awards for Year 6 leavers. These are awarded to those children who are not necessarily the highest achievers but aim to be the very best that they can be. They are highly coveted by the children who receive them.


As Headteacher, I would like to thank him for all the support and encouragement he gave to me personally over the years. It was a real pleasure to work with him and share the school’s journey. He was truly respected and valued for everything he did for our school. Over the years we became close and fond of him, I know that he was held in high regard by us all.


Our Vice-Chair of Governors summed up our thoughts, “Indeed, the sad loss of our Chair of Governors, David, leaves a void in the Oakfield family which will be felt widely - we will sincerely miss David's leadership, his desire and willingness to get involved with all aspects of life at Oakfield, his humility, his friendship - he truly believed in our vision: helping to unlock the potential of each and every child.  We will miss David dearly, but will do our very best to maintain his legacy.”


David will be sorely missed by everyone at Oakfield, remembered with fondness and not forgotten. We will be organising a ‘David Knight’ Governor trophy to present this year. Every Christmas at Oakfield we make a collection for charity at our Christmas performances. We like to choose a charity which means something to our Oakfield community and this year we would like our collection to go to ‘UK Kidney Association’ in memory of David. May he rest in peace.


With love from David’s Oakfield family. X

Pauline MacMillan

Headteacher of Oakfield Primary School